Resurrection

This year Lent, Easter and Holy week have been very different for me.

My mother – in – law died very suddenly.  A relationship died suddenly and painfully and our own house was not as secure as we thought.

image

After a memorable two weeks we were back in the UK and the first Sunday I went back to our church was Palm Sunday. I crept in late and left early. Although I knew her death was a good one and she didn’t suffer much pain, although I knew we had sung and laughed and disputed, it was still strange to go back to a service waving palms and celebrating life that would shortly be gone.

Usually I go to the meditations during the week, very often facilitating one, not this year.
It feels a very quiet reflective Easter this year. I know God is there with me and all the others who are going through difficult times, but it is more than that. It is a thankfulness and acceptance that I don’t have to pretend to smile, that I can just relax and say thank God you’re there, because I can do nothing.

11033857_1555238851415971_1901938226_o

Instead neighbours, friends and colleagues have looked after us, all gone the extra mile, in some cases literally miles to ensure my daughter got to Heathrow.

image 11029816_1539216776351512_973192779_o

And given flowers and prayers and emergency boardings  and new padlocks.

11103581_1554919711447885_1406156749_o

Thank you.

Christ is Risen

This entry was published on April 4, 2015 at 1:42 pm. It’s filed under Promote yourself, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Resurrection

  1. Pingback: Resurrection | cheryl62blog

Leave a Reply

