When we need the words – (not my usual type of writing*)

img_3142

When we need
The words
And they won’t come at all
Perhaps flowers
Will have to do instead
A song sung simply
Prayers and readings said

A life lived fully
Loved and loving

Fullness we can only wish for
Understanding rest, and past
Being fully human now,
Returned to God at last

Visiting earth for just a while
Doing good
Loving neighbours as we should
Following His Word

Sitting quietly now
Flowers gently nodding
With bird song overhead
We give thanks
For life, sweet Lord,
In her,
So fully led.

*A lady at church asked me to write a poem for an elderly aunt who had just died in the Caribbean – something beautiful.  Oh dear I’m not good at writing to order.  I looked at other scribbles and decide they weren’t suitable and decided to have a go at the sort of thing I thought she might like.  It also meant I wrote something for my sister-in-law who has also died recently …not in quite the same vein but I will put it up.

This entry was published on June 5, 2017 at 12:50 pm. It’s filed under Promote yourself, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “When we need the words – (not my usual type of writing*)

  1. Pingback: When we need the words – (not my usual type of writing*) | cheryl62blog

Leave a Reply

